SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Workbook [Deluxe Edition] [Digipak]

Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!
Album: Workbook [Deluxe Edition] [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Sunspots
2)    Wishing Well
3)    Heartbreak a Stranger
4)    See a Little Light
5)    Poison Years
6)    Sinners and Their Repentances
7)    Brasilia Crossed with Trenton
8)    Compositions for the Young and Old
9)    Lonely Afternoon
10)    Dreaming, I Am
11)    Whichever Way the Wind Blows
12)    All Those People Know
1)    Sunspots - (previously unreleased, live)
2)    Wishing Well - (previously unreleased, live)
3)    Compositions for the Young and Old - (live)
4)    Heartbreak a Stranger - (previously unreleased, live)
5)    Dreaming, I Am - (previously unreleased, live)
6)    If You're True - (live)
7)    Poison Years - (live)
8)    Sinners and Their Repentances - (previously unreleased, live)
9)    Lonely Afternoon - (previously unreleased, live)
10)    Brasilia Crossed with Trenton - (live)
11)    See a Little Light - (previously unreleased, live)
12)    Whichever Way the Wind Blows - (previously unreleased, live)
13)    All Those People Know - (previously unreleased, live)
14)    Shoot Out the Lights - (live)
15)    Hardly Getting Over It - (previously unreleased, live)
16)    Celebrated Summer - (previously unreleased, live)
17)    Makes No Sense at All - (previously unreleased, live)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Bob Mould (vocals, guitars, keyboards, mandolin, percussion); Jane Scarpantoni (cello); Tony Maimone (bass); Anton Fier (drums); Steve Haigler (percussion).
  • Recorded at Paisley Park Studios, Chanhassen, Minnesota and Grog Kill Studio, Willow, New York.
  • Personnel: Bob Mould (vocals, guitar, mandolin, keyboards, percussion); Jane Scarpantoni (cello); Anton Fier (drums); Steve Haigler (percussion).
  • Liner Note Authors: David Browne ; Ryan Adams; Michael Azerrad.
  • Recording information: Cabaret Metro, Chicago, IL (05/14/1989); Grog Kill Studio, Willow, NY (05/14/1989); Paisley Park Studios, Chanhassan, MN (05/14/1989).
  • Photographers: Marc Norberg; Jay Blakesberg; Greg Allen ; Andrew Paynter.
  • The release of WORKBOOK was greeted with universal critical acclaim. Comfortable with the old Husker Du three-piece formula, Bob Mould signed up Tony Maimone (bass) and Anton Fier (drums), both ex-members of Pere Ubu, for his solo debut. Ex-Tiny Lights cellist Jane Scarpantoni also adds some spectacular highlights and shading to the proceedings--especially on "Sinners and Their Repentances."
  • The album displays the natural progression of Mould's writing--though admittedly, the volume and feedback are turned down a notch, and a couple of tracks, in particular "Sunspots," a pretty solo acoustic guitar piece, may surprise people used to his traditional gale-force guitar. Standouts include the deceptively chipper "See a Little Light," which disguises its sadness in a brilliant pop wrapper, the punchy "Poison Years," which seems to be Mould's version of the Husker Du story, and "Brasilia Crossed with Trenton," arguably Mould's finest composition, full of howling regret, jangling guitars, and the kind of introspection that you can sing along with.
Professional Reviews
CMJ (1/5/04, p.26) - Ranked #5 in CMJ's "Top 20 Most-Played Albums of 1989"

Mojo (Publisher) (3/01/04, p.55) - Included in Mojo's The 67 Lost Albums You Must Own! - "[The album] is one of Mould's strongest sets, with cello fleshing out his aching vocal melodies, and brief bursts of blitzoid guitar adding dynamics."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Workbook [Deluxe Edition] [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top