Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The World I Want to Leave Behind *

Album: The World I Want to Leave Behind *
# Song Title   Time
1)    World I Want to Leave Behind, The
2)    Hold That Sound
3)    Great Escape
4)    Believe
5)    Redefine
6)    Way, The
7)    Long Count, The
8)    Monument, The
9)    Waterfalls
10)    Red Eyes
11)    Lighters
12)    Glasshouse, The
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Hippy Hughes, Kenny Bridges, Hippy Hughes (vocals, guitar); Erik Hughes (vocals); Drew Jurecka, Mika Posen, Diona Davies (violin); Monica Guenter (viola); Nick Storring (cello).
  • Audio Mixer: David Bottrill.
  • Authors: Hippy Hughes; Erik Hughes; Kenny Bridges.
  • Moneen's 2009 release, The World I Want to Leave Behind, is certainly a sign of the times in the rock world -- intricate musical bits are combined with emo-like vocals, and in the process, the group never forfeits the importance of melody. Sound like a familiar recipe? It should, as seemingly oodles of bands follow the same formula -- especially those who find themselves playing on a Warped Tour stage. The Moneen gentlemen have obviously studied their vintage Sunny Day Real Estate recordings, especially on such tracks as "Believe," while throwing an early Radiohead-like curveball at us with "Redefine." Add to it some heavy Smashing Pumpkins guitar riffs ("Hold That Sound") and some mellow detours ("Lighters"), and you have to give Moneen some credit, as they refuse to be pigeonholed using a one-dimensional sound -- something that the vast majority of their radio peers are quite guilty of. ~ Greg Prato
Professional Reviews
Alternative Press (p.108) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "Moneen's new album might be the most polished representation of their sound yet, but the band scuff up the surface enough to retain their all-too-human touch."

Kerrang (Magazine) (p.52) - "[T]he more uptempo likes of 'Great Escape' and 'Red Eyes' are as soaring as they are tender. Beautiful stuff."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top