Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed


Album: X
# Song Title   Time
1)    X
2)    Backyard Lipstick
3)    Riot
4)    Sing For Me
5)    Massacre Du Printemps
6)    ///\\\///
7)    X
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Manuel Troller (guitar); David Meier (drums).
  • Audio Mixers: Willy Strehler; Schnellertollermeier.
  • Recording information: Gabriel Recording, Stalden, Switzerland (04/2013).
  • Arranger: Schnellertollermeier.
  • The title of the Cuneiform debut of Switzerland's power trio Schnellertollermeier denotes a location of dislocation. On their third album since 2008, they have developed an approach to music where distinctions between conventionally marked terrains -- heavy metal, post-rock, prog, electric jazz, new music, improvisation, noise, modern composition, etc. -- meet in one place (the "X") and vanish. In their place is a music that is aggressive (at times brutal), wildly ambitious, and indefinable by common standards. Certainly they have influences. The bandmembers have studied and collaborated with key figures in modern music: guitarist Manuel Troller has studied under Fred Frith and played with Gerry Hemingway; drummer David Meier works with the free improv unit Things to Sounds and leads Hunter-Gatherer; bassist Andi Schnellmann is the son of composer/guitarist Ernst Schnellmann. While their name is arresting and initially confrontational, it also perfectly describes the group's sound. The title track is the opener. It acts as a manifesto for the rest. Everything happens at once: rhythm, dissonant harmonics, fractured melodies, spiraling dynamics, and polyrhythmic aggression confront, then converse and transform into one holistic thing. Each member solos while playing support and keeping time. Over 20 minutes long, the track careens across sonic and musical geographies. As quickly as the listener can identify a reference point -- whether it be King Crimson, Raoul Bjrkenheim, Ornette Coleman, Meshuggah, or Stravinsky -- it vanishes into the moment that emerges, sprawling with enormous force, toward some further margin. "Sing for Me" commences with drones (courtesy of arco bass) and washes of ambient guitar feedback and moves toward an unnameable center rather than bursting from one. "Massacre du Printemps" is a multi-textured work that makes a labyrinth of repetition. Industrial and post-metal join and fracture it, delivering an assault that is as beautiful as it is grimy. The first two and a half minutes of closer "///\\\///" consist of a shimmering, hypnotic six-note phrase played with admirable restraint before tempo and tension increase. They never explode, avoiding post rock clich. Schnellmann's distorted bassline claims the center and rides herd over his bandmates or elaborates along an ever-widening path. Schnellertollermeier's X makes a statement about what is possible for the guitar trio in terms of composition and performance in the 21st century, yet asks many new -- and at the moment unanswerable -- questions about them as well. It rocks. ~ Thom Jurek
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling X on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top