Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

YUI Orta [Bonus Tracks]

Album: YUI Orta [Bonus Tracks]
# Song Title   Time
1)    American Music
2)    Loner, The
3)    Womens Intuition
4)    Tell It Like It Is
5)    Livin' in a Heart
6)    Big Time
7)    Cool
8)    Beg a Little Love
9)    Following in Your Footsteps
10)    Sons 'N' Lovers
11)    Pain
12)    How Much More Can I Take
13)    Sweet Dreams
14)    4th Hour of My Sleep
15)    Power of Darkness
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • 1989's YUI ORTA is a collaboration between Ian Hunter and Mick Ronson, who first worked together in the seminal 1970s rock act Mott The Hoople. Among the 15 songs are "American Music," "The Loner," and "Big Time."
  • Includes two bonus tracks.
  • Personnel: Ian Hunter (vocals, guitar, piano, keyboards, background vocals); Mick Ronson (vocals, guitar, background vocals); Tom Mandel (keyboards); Mick Curry (drums); Donnie Kehr, Michele Vice, Robbie Alter, Joey Cirecano, Carmela Long (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixers: Larry Alexander ; Bernard Edwards.
  • Liner Note Author: Nigel Williamson.
  • Recording information: The Power Station, New York, NY (06/1989-07/1989).
  • Photographer: Mick Rock .
  • After being intermittently active during the mid-'80s, Ian Hunter returned full force to the world of rock & roll with this 1989 album. As usual, Mick Ronson plays an important role, making a substantial contribution to the songwriting and supplying an array of tasty guitar licks. The result is a strong outing that brings Hunter's classically styled rock up to date: the standout example of this is "American Music," a heartfelt tribute to the music that inspired "Hunter" as a child that combines power chords with a slickly harmonized chorus to create a punchy slice of pop-flavored rock & roll. YUI Orta is the slickest-sounding album in Hunter's catalog thanks to the efforts of Bernard Edwards, the producer best known for being half of the creative brain trust behind Chic and producing slick outings for the Power Station and Robert Palmer. This pairing might seem odd in concept but it results in an effective sound that rocks hard but offers enough ear candy elements to make the whole package listener friendly. For instance, Edwards adds a serpentine horn riff to "Cool" that cleverly enhances its soulfulness without taming the song's hard rock edge. YUI Orta also benefits from a strong, thoroughly engaging positivity in Hunter's lyrics: examples include "The Loner," a song that points out how it's a good thing to stand apart from the crowd, and "Big Time," an exuberant, rollicking tune that tells the listener, "you're never too small to hit the big time." Although it never achieved the sales it deserved, YUI Orta remains an exciting album that is worthy of rediscovery by both anyone interested in Ian Hunter's work and anyone interested in good, old-fashioned rock & roll. ~ Donald A. Guarisco
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling YUI Orta [Bonus Tracks] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top