SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed


Album: Yesterworlds: The Early Demos [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Midwinter (Intro)
2)    Beyond Enlightenment
3)    Vernal Awakening
4)    Void of Tranquillity
5)    Unfurled by Dawn
6)    Yesterworld - (previously unreleased)
7)    Punish My Heaven [Demo Version] - (previously unreleased)
8)    Away, Delight, Away [Demo Version] - (previously unreleased)
9)    Gallery [Demo Version], The
10)    Punish My Heaven [Alternative Version]
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Mikael Stanne (vocals, guitar); Anders Frid‚n (vocals); Fredrik Johansson, Niklas Sundin (guitar); Anders Jivarp (drums).
  • Liner Note Author: Niklas Sundin.
  • Recording information: Idrottshuset, Molndal, Sweden (03/1991-03/1994); Studio Fredman, XXX (03/1991-03/1994); Studio Soundscape (03/1991-03/1994).
  • Photographers: Anders Iwers; Kenneth Johansson.
  • The 2009 release of Yesterworlds: The Early Demos commemorates the 20th anniversary of Dark Tranquillity's impressive career (18th if you discount the first two, when they went by the rather comical moniker of Septic Broiler!), and their almost incomparably consistent body of work, not only in terms of quality but also in their largely unwavering commitment to melodic death metal. Ironically, early on in their career before they came to epitomize the very face of the so-called Gothenburg sound, the group was somewhat overshadowed by both more accessible, more extreme, or simply better-marketed Swedish compatriots like Entombed, Edge of Sanity, Tiamat, and others, making this newly reissued material all the more compelling for reappraisal with the benefit of hindsight. This is especially so for the three songs from 1991's Trail of Life Decayed demo (including fan favorite "Beyond Enlightenment"), which juggled different riffs as though their lives depended on it, clearly prized showboating complexity over songwriting immediacy, and featured the exact same growling but hollow guitar tone heard on the earliest releases by the bands cited above. Even the subsequent tandem of seven-minute slogs drawn from 1992's A Moonclad Reflection EP revealed only the slightest glimpses of the overt melodicism, songwriting economy -- never mind the keyboards -- that would figure so prominently on DT's future, most representative work. But the seeds were certainly sown here, and the presence of original vocalist Anders Frid‚n on all of the above is notable merely because of his well-documented defection to cross-town rivals In Flames (with whom he remains to the present day), because his tuneless screaming was otherwise as undeveloped and unrecognizable from later-day performances as the musicianship of his erstwhile bandmates. The remaining four songs collected on Yesterworlds are essentially 1994 demos for Dark Tranquillity's imminent The Gallery album and Of Chaos and Eternal Night EP, and thus somewhat less illuminating from a rarities standpoint, but they do shed a little light on the band's first collaborations with second vocalist, Mikael Stanne, who would quickly make fans forget his predecessor and who continues at the helm two decades on. So the only question left to ask about Yesterworlds is whether it serves much of a purpose, since most of the die-hard fans likely to care about such obscurities probably already acquired them back in the day, in one shape or another. But the answer to that question is most certainly a yes, given Dark Tranquillity's escalating popularity over recent years, and the volume of new fans who gravitated to and contributed to that popularity. ~ Eduardo Rivadavia
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Yesterworlds: The Early Demos [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top