Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Ziggy Marley Presents Let's Go Back... Way Back, Vol. 1

Album: Ziggy Marley Presents Let's Go Back... Way Back, Vol. 1: Dancehall Originators [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Hot This Year
2)    Big, Bad & Bold
3)    Take It Easy - (featuring Tanto Metro)
4)    So Sweet
5)    Look Work
6)    Rougher Than Dem
7)    King Fe Dancehall
8)    Stop It
9)    Dancehall Vibes
10)    Mr. Bad Mind
11)    Originator, The
12)    Taking You Back [Mega Mix] - (remix)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Audio Mixer: Phillip Smart.
  • Liner Note Author: Patricia Meschino.
  • Recording information: Cell Block, Kingston Jamaica; Gargamel Music, Kingston, Jamaica; Roaring Lion, Kingston, Jamaica; Tuff Gong Studios, Kingston, Jamaica.
  • An odd archival release geared toward the dancehall historian, Let's Go Back...Way Back, Vol. 1: Dancehall Originators kicks off Ziggy Marley and the Tuff Gong label's salute to the originators of modern dancehall. Ziggy makes good use of his family's Tuff Gong imprint with the set, bringing a set of forgotten tracks back into print and packaging them with informative liner notes plus a worthwhile essay. The odd bit is that what may look like a wide-ranging collection is basically a "riddim album" without the billing, as every cut in the set is built on the same backing track. Here the riddim is 1991's "Hot This Year" riddim, a light, uptempo ragga riddim made famous by Dirtsman's song of the same name. Vocalists Chaka Demus, Yellowman, General Trees, and Buju Banton all do very well on the track, and while dancehall regulars will flip over some of these lost performances, newcomers should be warned that riddim albums are often considered to be monotonous by those unfamiliar with the genre. ~ David Jeffries
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Ziggy Marley Presents Let's Go Back... Way Back, Vol. 1: Dancehall Originators [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top