Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

The Boy from the Mish
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Gary Lonesborough is a Yuin man, who grew up on the Far South Coast of NSW as part of a large and proud Aboriginal family. Growing up a massive Kylie Minogue and North Queensland Cowboys fan, Gary was always writing as a child, and continued his creative journey when he moved to Sydney to study at film school. Gary has experience working in Aboriginal health, the disability sector (including experience working in the Youth Justice System), and the film industry. He was Bega Valley Shire Council Young Citizen of the Year, won the Patrick White Young Indigenous Writers' Award, and has received a Copyright Agency First Nations Fellowship. The Boy from the Mish is Gary's debut YA novel.

Reviews

'Sizzlingly complicated...a sweet will-they, won't-they romance with welcome Indigenous Australian representation. What starts as a slow-burn love story riddled with internalized homophobia blossoms into a beautiful relationship alongside discussions of racism and classism. The first-person present-tense narration offers a sense of immediacy that makes every moment count, from raucous parties to romantic bushwalks. The sights, sounds, and inhabitants of the fictional rural Koori community, which is informed by Lonesborough's own life, are richly rendered. An affirming, textured coming-out story.' STARRED REVIEW, Kirkus Reviews, US (US title Ready When You Are)

'Gary Lonesborough handles the characters...with an honesty that brings them to life, telling the story with...sweetness and charm...unexpected and delightful...This heartwarming debut novel will appeal to fans of David Levithan and Becky Albertalli.' Tehani Croft, Books+Publishing

'Authentic, funny and rich in themes to discuss, this book should be on the radar of both general YA readers and every English teacher and school librarian...At its heart, this novel is a gorgeous and compelling love story between two Aboriginal boys. It's the kind of gentle, tender romance that will make your heart swell.' Nina Kenwood, Readings

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling The Boy from the Mish on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top