Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

The Hidden Order of Intimacy


Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

AVIVAH GOTTLIEB ZORNBERG is the author of The Beginning of Desire- Reflections on Genesis (a National Jewish Book Award-winner), The Particulars of Rapture- Reflections on Exodus, Bewilderments- Reflections on the Book of Numbers, and The Murmuring Deep- Reflections on the Biblical Unconscious (a National Jewish Book Award finalist). She lectures widely in Israel, the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom.


"Zornberg masterfully uncovers the subterranean threads and tension that underlie the written text of the myriad laws and rituals encompassed within the third book of the Bible . . . Although her thinking is complex, Zornberg's prose is fluid and poetic, enabling readers to follow her arguments with a sense of coherence and pleasure."
—Beth Kissileff, The Christian Century

“A new book by Avivah Gottlieb Zornberg is not just another work wrestling with the often obscure meanings of the Hebrew Bible. It is a seismic event. Her books—this latest is her sixth—are profound reflections."
—Mordechai Beck, The Jerusalem Report

“Zornberg follows her volumes on Genesis, Exodus, and Numbers with a stirring examination of Leviticus. Her nuanced interpretations reward close study, particularly her observation that ‘stumbling’ is essential to the process of understanding God’s words and that ‘failure is the process by which the Torah becomes real.’ This outstanding exegesis builds on its penetrating analysis of the Golden Calf and a surprising roster of sources—including Aristotle, George Eliot, and Sigmund Freud—to arrive at an original and persuasive take on Leviticus. Admirers of Karen Armstrong’s The Lost Art of Scripture will be richly rewarded.”
—Publishers Weekly, starred review

Ask a Question About this Product More...
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling The Hidden Order of Intimacy: Reflections on the Book of Leviticus on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.

Back to top