Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
Havergal Brian on Music: v. 2: European and American Music in His Time (Musicians on Music)

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Books » Music » General

Havergal Brian on Music

v. 2: European and American Music in His Time (Musicians on Music)

By Havergal Brian, Malcolm MacDonald (Edited by)

Elsewhere $93.95 $89.97   Save 4%
or 4 easy payments of $22.49 with What's this?
Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from UK
Order Now for Christmas with e-Gift
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Format: Hardback, 458 pages
Other Information: 1
Published In: United Kingdom, 21 May 2009
In this second volume of selections from his journalism, written over four decades between 1907 and 1946, the maverick English composer Havergal Brian (1876-1972) directs his enquiring mind at the music being composed in France, Germany, Italy and elsewhere, while he and his British contemporaries were fighting to establish new music at home. Richard Strauss figures prominently among the composers discussed, beginning with reviews of Halle and Queen's Hall concerts in 1907 and 1910. But even Strauss was not treated as lavishly as another whose music clearly fascinated Brian deeply: Arnold Schoenberg. From Gurrelieder to the Violin Concerto, Brian emerges as one of Schoenberg's most sympathetic and understanding champions among the English critical fraternity in the inter-War period.Other composers featured include Bartok, Berg, Busoni, Debussy, Dohnanyi, Dukas, Glazunov, Grieg, Hindemith, Kilpinen, Lehar, Mahler, Messager, Puccini, Rachmaninov, Ravel, Respighi, Shostakovich, Sibelius, Sousa, Stravinsky, Szymanowski, Tailleferre and Varese - as well as figures now obscure such as Alfred Bruneau, August Bungert, Cesar Geloso and Wilhelm Kienzl. Malcolm MacDonald's introductions and annotations provide the background to each piece and cast light on Brian's more obscure references.


(E)ine... wichtige Veroffentlichung, gerade weil man einen durch Musikjournalismus gefilterten Blick auf das Musikleben der ersten Halfte des 20. Jahrhunderts, vor allem der 30er Jahre erhalt. Die MUSIKFORSCHUNG A fascinating read. THE DELIANThis second volume of Brian's writing...makes for tantalising reading...What Malcolm MacDonald's meticulously annotated volume shows is the work of a highly intelligent the critical vanguard. CLASSICAL MUSIC (Editor's Choice)BR>A body of writing second to none for its insight into the musical world of the earlier twentieth century, as one of its most pertinent commentators saw journalism such as Brian's is a salutary reminder of what ought to be possible. INTERNATIONAL RECORD REVIEWMacDonald's editing is up to its usual high standards - his footnotes alone make fascinating reading. AMERICAN RECORD GUIDEBR> (B)oth a work of scholarship and an important historical source for an understanding of the British music of the early 20th century. ELGAR FOUNDATION This is a golden treasury of fascinating journalism from a period in British musical history that can easily be bypassed when leaping nating journalism from a period in British musical history that can easily be bypassed when leaping from Elgar to Britten and beyond, and penned by a writer of great skill, broad musical per

EAN: 9780907689485
ISBN: 0907689485
Publisher: Toccata Press
Dimensions: 21.59 x 13.97 x 3.02 centimetres (0.72 kg)
Age Range: 15+ years
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Havergal Brian on Music: v. 2: European and American Music in His Time (Musicians on Music) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.