Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

In Shock
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

For readers of Atul Gawande and Paul Kalanithi, an intensive care doctor becomes a dying patient in her own hospital in this gripping memoir of unbearable loss, which calls for medical professionals to see patients as human beings, not just as a diagnosis.

About the Author

Rana Awdish is an intensive care doctor and the director of the Pulmonary Hypertension Programme at Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit. Dr Awdish's mandate is to improve the patient experience across the US health system and speak on patient advocacy at healthcare venues across the country. She was awarded the Critical Care Teaching Award in 2016 and, in 2017, the Press Ganey Physician of the Year Award and The Schwartz Center's National Compassionate Caregiver Award.

Reviews

"Outstanding... What marks it out is not the scale or urgency of the trauma, although I read the first chapters at such a pace that I almost had to remind myself to breathe. It is the writing. It sparks and crackles with a dark energy... The writing is not just intense, but intelligent... In Shock stands above other patient memoirs." -- James McConnachie * The Sunday Times *
"Tense, powerful and gripping... her writing style is often nothing short of beautiful - evocative and emotional." -- Adam Kay * The Observer *
"In Shock is both an enthralling page-turner and a haunting call to arms for the medical profession to practice with greater kindness, compassion and humility. Awdish captures beautifully how and why doctors, against our best selves, can lose sight of our patients in furious pursuit of the diagnosis, the save, the cure. Anyone - doctor or otherwise - whose life has been touched by illness will be transfixed by this deeply moving tale of catastrophic illness and everything it teaches us." -- Rachel Clarke, author of Your Life in My Hands: A Junior Doctor's Story
"Awdish looks at the way we practice medicine with a combination of love and outrage. She writes beautifully about the secret, shameful feelings many doctors feel they have to hide and she shows us how we might do better. After reading this book, I feel like a different doctor." -- Gabriel Weston, author of Direct Red: A Surgeon's Story
"A brave, powerful memoir about what it is like to be both a doctor and a patient... There is a widsom that literally comes from suffering." * The Times *
"There are few recent books to compare it to. Paul Kalanithi's When Breath Becomes Air, another physician's account of illness, ended with his death. Awdish lives to tell the tale, but her cascade of medical problems is appallingly severe. Like [Adam] Kay's, her writing is motivated by trauma, both her own and that of her medical colleagues...The dramatic story of her illness and recovery alone would make the book compelling, but in the growing genre of medical non-fiction, it is her reflections on medical practice that really stand out." -- Dr Alexander Van Tulleken * TLS *
"Compelling and insightful, this story of what a doctor learns through coming close to death is packed with both action and reflection." * Cathy Rentzenbrink, bestselling author of The Last Act of Love *
"Urgent and supremely eloquent... In Shock is a book to set alongside the likes of Being Mortal by Atul Gawande, Direct Red by Gabriel Weston and, of course, Paul Kalanithi's When Breath Becomes Air." -- Caroline Sanderson * The Bookseller *
"An extraordinary memoir." * Daily Mail *
"Awdish describes her experiences powerfully... In Shock is a reminder that the sick are not subhuman, doctors are not superhuman, and that medicine needs to be human in order to truly heal." -- Sarah Ditum * Mail on Sunday *
"In Shock is a notable, ambitious and welcome contribution to an emerging dialogue concerning the quality and orientation of acute hospital care." -- Paul D'Alton * Irish Times *
"Awdish's book is the one I wished we were given as assigned reading our first year of medical school, alongside our white coats and stethoscopes ... dramatic, engaging and instructive." * New York Times *
"Harrowing and enlightening... This is a story of darkness and light, horror and hope. It's not an easy read, but it is a fascinating one, and highly recommended." * The Sunday Business Post *
"Had me hooked right from the start. Incredible story, and even more incredible story-telling... has had an unexpected impact on me and will change the way I practice medicine from here on." *
Dr Ranj Singh *
"A compassionate and critical look at medicine and illness from both a doctor's and a patient's perspective... Awdish has written a unique and insightful memoir." * Publishers Weekly *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling In Shock: How Nearly Dying Made Me a Better Intensive Care Doctor on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top