Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Conscious (Broods)

Album: Conscious (Broods)
# Song Title   Time
1)    Free
2)    We Had Everything
3)    Are You Home
4)    Heartlines
5)    Hold the Line
6)    Freak of Nature
7)    All of Your Glory
8)    Recovery
9)    Couldn't Believe
10)    Full Blown Love
11)    Worth the Fight
12)    Bedroom Door
13)    Conscious
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Recording information: Captain Cuts Studios. Los Angeles, CA; Golden Age Studios, Auckland, NZ; Roundhead Studios, Auckland, NZ.
  • Photographer: Renata Raksha.
  • Defiantly proclaiming "I'd lose everything so I can sing," Georgia Nott opens Broods' sophomore album, Conscious, with a bang. As the tribal drums kick in, synths droning with a menacing determination, it's clear that this effort is a huge evolution for the sibling duo of Georgia and Caleb Nott. Released two years after their introspective breakthrough debut, Conscious elevates the pair from the electro-indie sidelines occupied by Vaults and MisterWives and into major-player Chvrches territory. The melodies are catchier, the beats hit harder, and the energy is palpable, leaps and bounds above the moody, downtempo Evergreen. Once again produced by Joel Little (Lorde, Sam Smith, Ellie Goulding), Conscious is the sound of confidence and maturity. The Notts have had time to develop their songcraft -- guesting with Troye Sivan and Jarryd James, touring with Smith and Goulding -- and it's apparent, much like Goulding's own major pop leap to Delirium. Lead single "Free" was the first indicator, exploring an edgy scope that the Notts hadn't come close to on their debut. The yearning and breezy follow-up single "Couldn't Believe" is another highlight, sparkling with similar energy to Chvrches' "Clearest Blue" from 2015's Every Open Eye. Fellow Kiwi Lorde lends her alt-pop golden touch to "Heartlines," while Tove Lo infuses "Freak of Nature" with melodrama. Evergreen fans will delight in the slow burn of "Bedroom Door," the droning "Hold the Line," and the mellow "All of Your Glory," however those brief plaintive moments yield to the cheerfully liberated spirit of the bulk of the album. On the closing title track, the bass booms and Georgia warns to "wait for the explosion." Although in the context of the song it's a tortured plea, it might as well be a rallying cry for the entire album. Conscious builds upon the promise of their debut and goes well beyond with a tight vision of a glimmering pop future for the Notts. ~ Neil Z. Yeung
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Conscious (Broods) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top