Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » General » MP3 Downloads » R & B

Motherlode [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster]

Artist: James Brown (R&B)

Elsewhere $19.41 $17.28   Save 11%
Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from USA
Order Now for Christmas with e-Gift
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Polydor
Album: Motherlode [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    There It Is Live More Info... 3:06
2)    She's The One Album Version More Info... 2:53
3)    Since You Been Gone Album Version More Info... 5:34
4)    Untitled Instrumental Album Version More Info... 3:22
5)    Say It Loud (Say It Live) 1969/Live At Bell Auditorium More Info... 4:52
6)    Can I Get Some Help Album Version More Info... 8:54
7)    You Got To Have A Mother For Me Album Version More Info... 5:17
8)    Funk Bomb Instrumental More Info... 4:13
9)    Baby Here I Come Album Version More Info... 4:28
10)    People Get Up And Drive Your Funky Soul Remix More Info... 9:05
11)    I Got Ants In My Pants (And I Want To Dance) Remix More Info... 7:26
12)    You've Changed Album Version More Info... 3:19
13)    Body Heat Alternate Mix More Info... 11:53

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: James Brown (vocals, organ); Bobby Byrd (vocals, keyboards);
  • Jimmy "Chank" Nolen, Healon "Cheese" Martin, Alphonso "Country" Kellum, Phelps "Catfish" Collins, Jimmy Nolan, Robert Coleman (guitar); Jimmy Parker, Alfred "Pee Wee" Ellis, Joe Poff (alto saxophone); Robert McCollough, Maceo Parker, L.D. "Eldee" Williams (tenor saxophone); St. Clair Pinckney, Louis Tilford (baritone saxophone); Darryl "Hasaan" Jamison, Jerone "Jasaan" Sanford, Ike Oakley, Richard "Kush" Griffith, Joseph Davis, Waymond Reed, Joe Dupars (trumpet); Louis Tilford, Fred Wesley, Levi Rasbury, Hollie Farris (trombone); Mike Lawler (Clavinet); Fred Thomas, William "Bootsy" Collins (bass); John "Jabo" Starks, Melvin Parker (drums); Johnny Griggs (percussion).
  • Producer: James Brown.
  • Compilation producers: Tim Rogers, Cliff White.
  • Recorded between 1967 & 1976. Originally released on Polydor (6093). Includes liner notes by Cliff White.
  • Personnel: James Razor Brown , Bobby Byrd (vocals, organ); Alphonso "Country" Kellum, Hearlon "Cheese" Martin, Jimmy Nolen, Phelps "Catfish" Collins (guitar); Pee Wee Ellis (alto saxophone, organ); Jimmy Parker (alto saxophone); St. Clair Pinckney (tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Eldee Williams, Robert McCollough, Maceo Parker (tenor saxophone); Louis Tilford (baritone saxophone); Joe Dupars, Waymon Reed, Isiah "Ike" Oakley, Joseph Davis , Jerone "Jasaan Sanford" Melson, Darryl "Hasaan" Jamison, Richard "Kush" Griffith (trumpet); Levi Rasbury, Fred Wesley (trombone); Clyde Stubblefield, Melvin Parker, John Russell Morgan, John Starks (drums); Johnny Griggs (congas, percussion); Benny Parks (percussion).
  • Audio Mixers: Tom "Curly" Ruff; Dennis M. Drake.
  • Liner Note Author: Clifford White.
  • Recording information: Bell Auditorium, Augusta, GA (04/11/1969-09/??/1976); Bobby Smith Studios, Macon, GA (04/11/1969-09/??/1976); Criteria Studios, Miami, FL (04/11/1969-09/??/1976); International Studios, Augusta, GA (04/11/1969-09/??/1976); King Studios, Cincinnati, OH (04/11/1969-09/??/1976); Mastersound Studios, Atlanta, GA (04/11/1969-09/??/1976); RCA Studios, Los Angeles, CA (04/11/1969-09/??/1976); Starday-King Studios, Nashville, TN (04/11/1969-09/??/1976); The Apollo, New York, NY (04/11/1969-09/??/1976); United Artists Studios, Hollywood, CA (04/11/1969-09/??/1976).
  • Editors: Tom "Curly" Ruff; Dennis M. Drake.
  • Illustrator: Chris Thompson .
  • Introduction by: James Razor Brown .
  • Unknown Contributor Role: Danny Ray.
  • During the mid- and late '80s, after Brown and Polydor parted ways, the label began to reissue his work, some of which had been out of print for close to a decade. Motherlode is one of the finest compilations. Coming a few years after In the Jungle Groove, a compilation effort that culled some of Brown's harder-edged 1969-1971 tracks, this covers 1969-1973 and has the smoothness of a regular release effort.
  • By this point, Motherlode producers Cliff White and Tim Rogers began to know more about Brown's "classic" work than he did and could do compilations where the tracks were all potent. This set starts off with an explosive live take of "There It Is" recorded at the Apollo in 1972. 1969's "She's the One" with his late-'60s orchestra has great guitar work from both Jimmy "Chank" Nolan and Alphonso "Country" Kellum. Since most of the tracks here weren't hits, or were even released, it provides a fresh interpretation of Brown's production style and the skills of his players. "Untitled Instrumental" features Brown's rock and psychedelic-influenced unit, with included guitarist Phelps Collins and his brother, Bootsy Collins, and his singular bass skills. The heart of this CD, however, is "People Drive Your Funky Soul." Originally on Slaughter's Big Rip Off in a too brief 3:50 version, Motherlode brings the entire take to the public for the first time. The track, which manages to subtly cross reggae with bebop, again features Brown with his 1971-1975 band and it exhibits their chemistry and the band's unbelievable versatility. Although Motherlode has been lost in the shuffle due to a plethora of other compilations, this is still illuminating and enjoyable. ~ Jason Elias

Professional Reviews
Q (8/01, p.146) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Fantastic..."

Format:CD (1 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:17 June, 2003
Guest Artist: Bootsy Collins; Maceo Parker; Fred Wesley; Clyde Stubblefield
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Motherlode [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by, Inc.