Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Shine On

Album: Shine On
# Song Title   Time
1)    Sitting Here in Limbo
2)    If I Needed You
3)    Shine On
4)    Maybelle's Dance
5)    Boats to Build
6)    You'll Do
7)    Girl from the North Country
8)    I've Got a Thing About Trains
9)    Balloon Song
10)    (Everything Comes Down to) Money & Love
11)    Minuet for the Backroads
12)    Ocean's Roar
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Gove Scrivenor (vocals, acoustic guitar, autoharp, harmonica); John Prine, LeAnn Etheridge, Nanci Griffith, Lari White (vocals); Guthrie Trapp (acoustic guitar, mandolin); Steven Sheehan, Frank Christian (acoustic guitar); Bob Hatter, Ray Flacke (electric guitar); Vinnie Farcetti (banjo, dulcimer); "Cowboy" Jack Clement (dobro); Dave Ferguson (ukulele, bass); "Cousin" Al Angelo (steel guitar); Shawn Camp (violin); Jim Hoke (clarinet, alto saxophone); Joey Miskulin (accordion, keyboards); James Hooker (piano, keyboards); Ron DeLaVega (bass); Pat McInerney (drums, percussion).
  • Recorded at Jukebox Studios, Soundscape Studios, Cowboy Arms Hotel, and Recording Spa, Nashville, Tennessee.
  • Personnel: Gove Scrivenor (vocals); John Prine, Lari White, Nanci Griffith, Le Ann Etheridge (vocals); Steven Sheehan (acoustic guitar, gut-string guitar); Guthrie Trapp (acoustic guitar, mandolin); Frank Christian (acoustic guitar); Ray Flacke (electric guitar); Jack Clement (dobro); Pat McLaughlin (mandolin); Shawn Camp (violin); Joey Miskulin (accordion, keyboards); Jim Hoke (clarinet, alto saxophone); James Hooker (piano, keyboards); Pat McInerney (drums, percussion).
  • Recording information: Cowboy Arms Hotel; Jukebox Studios; Recording SPA, Nashville, TN; Soundscape Studios, Nashville, TN.
  • Photographers: C.J. Flanagan; Joe Ranieri.
  • Gove Scrivenor's follow-up to 1988's Coconut Gove is a solid yet non-revelatory release. Scrivenor's rendition of Townes Van Zandt's "If I Needed You," with guest vocals by Lari White, is a rather faithful rendition and makes for one of the stronger tracks here. Nanci Griffith guests on the title track and John Prine makes an appearance on an excellent take on the Bob Dylan classic "Girl From the North Country." Apart from these moments, and some nice Scrivenor-led autoharp and mandolin instrumentals, there are some decidedly nondescript tracks. One wishes Scrivenor would break out the autoharp a little more often, as a good deal of the material, while being very solid, has a somewhat homogenous sound. Still, there is more than enough here to keep the Scrivenor fan satisfied. ~ Matt Fink
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Shine On on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top