Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Sleepless Nights

Album: Sleepless Nights
# Song Title   Time
1)    Brand New Heartache More Info... 2:25
2)    Tonight The Bottle Let Me Down Album Version More Info... 2:53
3)    Sing Me Back Home Album Version More Info... 3:50
4)    Your Angel Steps Out Of Heaven More Info... 3:09
5)    Crazy Arms More Info... 2:46
6)    Sleepless Nights More Info... 3:22
7)    Close Up The Honky-Tonks Album Version More Info... 2:18
8)    Together Again More Info... 3:11
9)    Honky Tonk Women More Info... 4:17
10)    Green Green Grass Of Home More Info... 4:03
11)    Dim Lights Album Version More Info... 2:54
12)    The Angels Rejoiced Last Night More Info... 2:24
Product Details


Performer Notes
  • SLEEPLESS NIGHTS brings together 12 tracks from former Flying Burrito Brothers member Gram Parsons.
  • The Flying Burrito Brothers/Gram Parsons: Gram Parsons (vocals, guitar, mandolin).
  • Personnel: Chris Hillman, Herb Pedersen, Bernie Leadon (vocals, guitar); Emmylou Harris (vocals); James Burton (guitar); Al Perkins (steel guitar, drums); Byron Berline (violin); Glen D. Hardin (piano, keyboards); Michael Clarke , Ron Tutt (drums).
  • Liner Note Authors: Emmylou Harris; Bud Scoppa.
  • Photographer: Jim McCrary.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Chris Hillman; Michael Clarke ; Sneaky Pete Kleinow; Bernie Leadon.
  • Three years after Gram Parsons' untimely death, his frequent duet partner Emmylou Harris helped arrange for the release of this collection of outtakes -- three songs he cut with Harris for his final solo album Grievous Angel in 1973, and nine others recorded live in the studio with The Flying Burrito Brothers in 1970. Anyone hoping to find the great lost Gram Parsons song is out of luck here; all 12 tunes are covers of vintage country classics, except for "Honky Tonk Women" (which at least sounds like a C&W classic in this arrangement) and The Louvin Brothers' "The Angels Rejoiced Last Night," which is as spiritually uplifting as ever with Harris' pure, clear voice helping to bring it home. The three tracks with his duet partner fare best, while most of the cuts with the Burritos sound like demos, and though a few are inspired (particularly the deeply felt versions of "Sing Me Back Home" and "Green, Green Grass of Home," a lot of the time both Parsons and the band sound like a solid bar band in the middle of a Wednesday night set -- more than competent, but less than inspired. Sleepless Nights was certainly a labor of love and it's a worthy purchase for committed fans, but neophytes are better off giving a listen to The Flying Burrito Brothers' masterpiece The Gilded Palace of Sin, or either solo album, G.P. or Grievous Angel. ~ Mark Deming
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Classical
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Country Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Sleepless Nights on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top